Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

E. R. Eddison

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Rhondak101

E. R. Eddison

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Eric Rucker Eddison
Born: November 24, 1882
Leeds, England
Died: August 18, 1945
Wiltshire, England
Occupation: Civil Servant, Author
Nationality: English


Eric Rücker Eddison, CB, CMG was an English civil servant and author, writing epic fantasy novels under the name E. R. Eddison. His notable works include The Worm Ouroboros (1922) and the Zimiamvian Trilogy (1935-1958).

Eddison's early education came from a series of private tutors, whom he shared with the young Arthur Ransome. Ransome recalls Eddison's daring and machiavellian methods of getting rid of unpopular teachers in his autobiography. Afterwards Eddison was educated at Eton and Trinity College, Oxford and joined the Board of Trade in 1906, retiring in 1938 to work full-time on his fiction. He was also a member of the Viking Society for Northern Research. During a distinguished career he was appointed a Companion of the Order of St. Michael and St. George in 1924 and a Companion of the Order of the Bath in 1929 for public service with the Board of Trade. He and his wife had one child, a daughter. Their son-in-law, Kenneth Hesketh Higson, a Royal Air Force pilot, died in an air fight over Italy in the Second World War.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Tolkien's Bookshelf

 7. (1922)

 Zimiamvian Trilogy

 1. (1935)
 2. (1941)
 3. (1958)