Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Neal Stephenson

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Neal Stephenson

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Neal Town Stephenson
Born: October 31, 1959
Fort Meade, Maryland
Occupation: Novelist, Short Story Writer, Essayist
Nationality: American


Neal Town Stephenson is an American writer, known for his speculative fiction works, which have been variously categorized science fiction, historical fiction, maximalism, cyberpunk, and postcyberpunk. Stephenson explores areas such as mathematics, cryptography, philosophy, currency, and the history of science. He also writes non-fiction articles about technology in publications such as Wired Magazine, and has worked part-time as an advisor for Blue Origin, a company (funded by Jeff Bezos) developing a manned sub-orbital launch system.

Born in Fort Meade, Maryland (home of the NSA and the National Cryptologic Museum) Stephenson came from a family comprising engineers and hard scientists he dubs "propeller heads". His father is a professor of electrical engineering whose father was a physics professor; his mother worked in a biochemistry laboratory, while her father was a biochemistry professor. Stephenson's family moved to Champaign-Urbana, Illinois in 1960 and then to Ames, Iowa in 1966 where he graduated from Ames High School in 1977. Stephenson furthered his studies at Boston University. He first specialized in physics, then switched to geography after he found that it would allow him to spend more time on the university mainframe. He graduated in 1981 with a B.A. in Geography and a minor in physics. Since 1984, Stephenson has lived mostly in the Pacific Northwest and currently resides in Seattle with his family.

Neal Stephenson is the author of the three-volume historical epic "The Baroque Cycle" (Quicksilver, The Confusion, and The System of the World) and the novels Cryptonomicon, The Diamond Age, Snow Crash, and Zodiac.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Baroque Cycle

 1. (2003)
 2. (2003)
 3. (2004)

 Foreworld Saga

 1. (2012)
 2. (2012)
 3. (2013)