Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Margaret Atwood

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Margaret Atwood

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Margaret Eleanor Atwood
Born: November 18, 1939
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Occupation: Novelist, Poet
Nationality: Canadian


Margaret Atwood was born in Ottawa in 1939, and grew up in northern Quebec and Ontario, and later in Toronto. She has lived in numerous cities in Canada, the U.S., and Europe.

She is the author of more than thirty books – novels, short stories, poetry, literary criticism, social history, and books for children.

Atwood’s work is acclaimed internationally and has been published around the world. Her novels include The Handmaid’s Tale and Cat’s Eye – both shortlisted for the Booker Prize; The Robber Bride; Alias Grace, winner of the prestigious Giller Prize in Canada and the Premio Mondello in Italy, and a finalist for the Booker Prize, the Orange Prize, and the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award; and The Blind Assassin, winner of the Booker Prize and a finalist for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award. Her new novel is Oryx and Crake (2003). She is the recipient of numerous honours, such as The Sunday Times Award for Literary Excellence in the U.K., the National Arts Club Medal of Honor for Literature in the U.S., Le Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in France, and she was the first winner of the London Literary Prize. She has received honorary degrees from universities across Canada, and one from Oxford University in England.

Margaret Atwood lives in Toronto with novelist Graeme Gibson.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Canongate Myth

 2. (2005)


 1. (1985)
 2. (2019)

 MaddAddam Sequence

 1. (2003)
 2. (2009)
 3. (2013)