Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Richard Matheson

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Richard Matheson

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Richard Burton Matheson
Born: February 20, 1926
Died: June 24, 2013
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Richard Matheson was born in 1926. He began publishing SF with his short story 'Born of Man and Woman' in 1950. I Am Legend was published in 1954 and subsequently filmed as The Omega Man (in 1971), starring Charlton Heston, and I Am Legend (in 2007), starring Will Smith. Matheson wrote the script for the film The Incredible Shrinking Man, an adaptation of his second SF novel The Shrinking Man. The film won a Hugo award in 1958. He wrote many screenplays as well as episodes of The Twilight Zone. He continued to write short stories and novels, some of which formed the basis for film scripts, including Duel, directed by Steven Spielberg in 1971. A film of his novel What Dreams May Come was released in 1998, starring Robin Williams. Stephen King has cited Richard Matheson as a creative influence on his work.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Collected Stories

 0. (1989)
 1. (2003)
 2. (2005)
 3. (2005)

 Gregg Press Science Fiction Series

 66. (1956)

 Twilight Zone

 7. (1985)