Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Robert Holdstock

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Robert Holdstock

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Robert Paul Holdstock
Born: August 2, 1948
Hythe, Kent, England, UK
Died: November 29, 2009
London, England
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: British


Robert Holdstock also writes under the pen names of Chris Carlsen and Robert Faulcon

Robert Paul Holdstock was an English novelist and author best known for his works of Celtic, Nordic, Gothic and Pictish fantasy literature, predominantly in the fantasy subgenre of mythic fiction.

Holdstock broke into print in 1968. His science fiction and fantasy works explore philosophical, psychological, anthropological, spiritual, and woodland themes. He received three BSFA awards and won the World Fantasy Award in the category of Best Novel of 1985.

Robert Holdstock, the oldest of five children, was born in Hythe, Kent. His father, Robert Frank Holdstock, was a police officer and his mother, Kathleen Madeline Holdstock, was a nurse. At the age of seven Robert started attending Gillingham Grammar School in the Medway Towns. As a young adult he had jobs including banana boatman, construction worker and slate miner. He also earned a Bachelor of Science from University College of North Wales, Bangor, with honours in applied Zoology (1967–1970). He continued his education, earning a Master of Science in Medical Zoology at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine in 1971. He conducted research at the Medical Research Council in London from 1971 to 1974, while also doing part-time writing. He became a full-time writer during 1976 and lived out the rest of his life in North London. He died in hospital at the age of 61, following his collapse with an E. coli infection on 18 November 2009.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Merlin Codex

 1. (2001)
 2. (2002)
 3. (2007)

 The Mythago Cycle

 1. (1984)
 2. (1988)
 3. (1991)
 4. (1993)
 5. (1994)
 6. (1997)
 7. (2009)

 Other Edens

 1. (1987)
 2. (1988)
 3. (1989)


 1. (1978)