Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Philip Pullman

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Philip Pullman

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Philip Pullman
Born: October 19, 1946
Norwich, Norfolk, England, UK
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: English


PHILIP PULLMAN is one of the most acclaimed writers working today. He is best known for the His Dark Materials trilogy (The Golden Compass, The Subtle Knife, and The Amber Spyglass), which has been named one of the top 100 novels of all time by Newsweek and one of the all-time greatest novels by Entertainment Weekly. He has also won many distinguished prizes, including the Carnegie Medal for The Golden Compass (and the reader-voted "Carnegie of Carnegies" for the best children's book of the past seventy years); the Whitbread (now Costa) Award for The Amber Spyglass; a Booker Prize long-list nomination (The Amber Spyglass); Parents' Choice Gold Awards (The Subtle Knife and The Amber Spyglass); and the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, in honor of his body of work. In 2004, he was appointed a Commander of the Order of the British Empire.

Philip Pullman is the author of many other much-lauded novels. Three volumes related to His Dark Materials: Lyra's Oxford, Once Upon a Time in the North, and The Collectors. For younger readers: I Was a Rat!; Count Karlstein; Two Crafty Criminals; Spring-Heeled Jack; and The Scarecrow and His Servant. For older readers: the Sally Lockhart quartet (The Ruby in the Smoke, The Shadow in the North, The Tiger in the Well, and The Tin Princess); The White Mercedes; and The Broken Bridge.

Philip Pullman lives in Oxford, England. To learn more, please visit or follow him on facebook at Philip Pullman author, and on Twitter at @PhilipPullman.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Book of Dust

 1. (2017)
 2. (2019)

 Canongate Myth

 14. (2009)

 His Dark Materials

 0. (2020)
 0. (2008)
 0. (2003)
 1. (1995)
 2. (1997)
 3. (2000)