Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Richard Chizmar

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Richard Chizmar

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Richard Chizmar
Occupation: Writer, Editor, Publisher
Nationality: American


Richard Chizmar is the founder and publisher/editor of Cemetery Dance magazine and the Cemetery Dance Publications book imprint. He has edited more than a dozen anthologies, including The Best of Cemetery Dance, The Earth Strikes Back, Night Visions 10, October Dreams (with Robert Morrish), and the Shivers series.

Chizmar's fiction has appeared in dozens of publications, including Ellery Queen's Mystery Magazine and The Year's 25 Finest Crime and Mystery Stories. He has won two World Fantasy Awards, four International Horror Guild Awards, and the HWA's Board of Trustees Award.

One of the longest running magazines in the genre, Cemetery Dance has published dozens of the bestselling authors in the horror business over the last twenty years. The company has been featured in The New York Times, USA Today, Entertainment Weekly, Variety, Publishers Weekly, Library Journal, Locus, and many other publications.

Together Chizmar and Johnathon Schaech founded production company Chesapeake Films, and they've written screenplays and teleplays for United Artists, Showtime, Sony Screen Gems, Lions Gate, NBC, and many other companies. Their first projects include adaptations of Stephen King's From A Buick 8, Douglas Clegg's The Hour Before Dark, Stephen King's and Peter Straub's Black House, Ed Gorman's The Poker Club, as well as episodes of Showtime's Masters of Horror and NBC's Fear Itself.

Chizmar has appeared at numerous conferences as a writing instructor, guest speaker, panelist, and guest of honor.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Button Box

 1. (2017)
 2. (2019)
 3. (2022)

 Night Visions

 10. (2001)


 1. (2002)
 2. (2003)
 3. (2004)
 4. (2006)
 5. (2009)
 6. (2010)
 7. (2013)