Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Nina Kiriki Hoffman

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: valashain

Nina Kiriki Hoffman

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Nina Kiriki Hoffman
Born: March 20, 1955
San Gabriel, California, USA
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Nina Kiriki Hoffman's first solo novel, The Thread That Binds the Bones (1993), won the Bram Stoker Award for first novel; her second novel, The Silent Strength of Stones (1995) was a finalist for the Nebula and World Fantasy Awards. A Red Heart of Memories (1999, part of her "Matt Black" series), nominated for a World Fantasy Award, was followed by sequel Past the Size of Dreaming in 2001. Much of her work to date is short fiction, including "Matt Black" novella "Unmasking" (1992), nominated for a World Fantasy Award; and "Matt Black" novelette "Home for Christmas" (1995), nominated for the Nebula, World Fantasy, and Sturgeon awards. In addition to writing, Hoffman has taught, worked part-time at a B. Dalton bookstore, and done production work on The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction. An accomplished fiddle player, she has played regularly at various granges near her home in Eugene, Oregon.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 Chapel Hollow

 1. (1993)
 2. (1998)
 3. (2006)

 Enchanted Oregon & Spores Ferry

 0. (1994)

 Haunted House & Nathan the Ghost

 0. (2003)
 1. (1999)
 2. (2001)


 1. (2002)

 Magic Next Door

 1. (2010)

 Matilda 'Matt' Black

 0. (1992)

 Star Trek: Voyager

 15. (1998)