Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Bram Stoker

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: Administrator

Bram Stoker

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Abraham Stoker
Born: November 8, 1847
Clontarf, Dublin, Ireland
Died: April 20, 1912
London, England
Occupation: Novelist
Nationality: Irish


Bram Stoker was born near Dublin on November 8 1847, the third of seven children. A mystery illness kept him virtually bedridden until the age of seven. He remained shy and bookish throughout his adolescence, but astounded his doctors by overcoming his early frailty and developing into a fine athlete, to the point where he was named as University athlete at Trinity College, Dublin.

Bram had always dreamed of becoming a writer, but initially followed his father's wishes and became a civil servant in Dublin Castle. While a civil servant Stoker continued to write stories.

By 1878 he had moved to London and was offered a job by Henry Irving as actor-manager of the Lyceum Theatre. He promptly resigned from the civil service, married Florence Balcombe and started to lead a new life. Florence gave birth to their only child, a son, Noel, but though they kept up appearances, it is believed that they became estranged. Although he found himself extremely busy with his professional duties, Stoker nevertheless found time to write fiction. His first full-length novel, The Snake's Pass, was published in 1890. It was in the same year that he began research for his masterwork, Dracula, which was eventually published in 1897, to great public acclaim. His other published works include, The Lady of the Shroud (1909), The Lair of the White Worm (aka: The Garden of Evil) (1911), and Dracula's Guest and Other Weird Stories (1914)

Stoker continued his writing career until his death in London from exhaustion at the age of 64 on 20 April 1912.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works



 0. (2008)
 0. (1928)
 0. (1900)
 2. (1897)

 Forgotten Fantasy

 17. (1881)

 Masters of Fantasy

 1. (1903)

 Ron Miller Science Fiction Classics

 64. (2010)