Upgrade to a better browser, please.

Science Fiction, Fantasy & Horror Authors

Octavia E. Butler

Added By: Administrator
Last Updated: valashain

Octavia E. Butler

Search for this author through Search for this author on Search for this author on
Full Name: Octavia Estelle Butler
Born: June 22, 1947
Pasadena, California, USA
Died: February 24, 2006
Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Occupation: Writer
Nationality: American


Octavia E. Butler (1947-2006) was a bestselling and award-winning author, considered one of the best science fiction writers of her generation. She received both the Hugo and Nebula awards, and in 1995 became the first author of science fiction to receive a MacArthur Fellowship. She was also awarded the prestigious PEN Lifetime Achievement Award in 2000. Her first novel, Patternmaster (1976), was praised both for its imaginative vision and for Butler's powerful prose, and spawned four prequels, beginning with Mind of My Mind (1977) and finishing with Clay's Ark (1984).

Although the Patternist series established Butler among the science fiction elite, it was Kindred (1979), a story of a black woman who travels back in time to the antebellum South, that brought her mainstream success. In 1985, Butler won Nebula and Hugo awards for the novella "Bloodchild," and in 1987 she published Dawn, the first novel of the Xenogenesis trilogy, about a race of aliens who visit earth to save humanity from itself. Fledgling (2005) was Butler's final novel. She died at her home in 2006.

Works in the WWEnd Database

 Non Series Works


 The Parable Series

 1. (1993)
 2. (1998)

 The Patternist

 0. (2007)
 0. (1978)
 1. (1980)
 2. (1977)
 3. (1984)
 4. (1976)


 0. (2000)
 1. (1987)
 2. (1988)
 3. (1989)